90 thoughts on “Evangel

  1. Merry Christmas, Linda. Thank you for the beautiful links you laid in your response yesterday. I clicked on one and still another while Old English-ing the woodwork and guiding grandson on some Christmas baking. I think we’ll be ready when more guests come tomorrow. Still we will come as we are and rejoice in the season.

    1. I’ve always thought the holiday season improves when people apply the Rule of Good Enough. If there are three kinds of cookies rather than the six you had planned? Well, that’s good enough. Only a few around the table, or fewer lights, or a fallen cake? It makes no difference, as long as there’s an abundance of memories, and joy.

      I love your image of Christmas as a great come-as-you-are party, Georgette. Merry Christmas to you.

    1. Thank you, Ellen. I had hoped to match some Christmas words to the etheree shape, and when I pulled my little wooden angel from her box, it happened. I’m glad you like it. Merry Christmas to you and Karl, and my best to you both for the New Year.

      Linda

    1. Many thanks, Z. I’m glad you found it so. By the way — do you see that slightly sideways expression on my angel’s face? She’s keeping an eye on those rocks in El Matal. Every one of them counts, too.

      For you, and all in your world, Feliz Navidad. May your day be peaceful and joyous.

      1. i loved that angel and every nuance! i studied the light and shadows as well, though i missed seeing that one of her eyes was pointed to latitude just south of the equator! thank you…

        may your holidays be beautiful as well! (now to coax the gerbils, that are fat and lazy from FRUITCAKE, into making this connection work!

    1. I can’t remember her exact phrasing, but my proverb-prone grandmother used to say, “Tears are a sign of a melting heart.” I’ve always loved that — it allows for so much more than tears of sorrow.

      I love that you thought the poem beautiful, too, Melissa. Merry Christmas to you, and best wishes for the New Year.

      1. My grandmother spoke in proverbs too, except they were in Russian. The one I remember best translates approximately as “The slower you go, the farther you get,” which parallels our “Haste makes waste.”

  2. I have an odd assortment of angels, a few that mom gave me over the years. I keep them on display all year long. I love your tattered angel and her message to us. A blessed Christmas to you too, Linda.

    1. They do carry memories, don’t they, Martha? Apart from this one, I have only one other pair: ceramic and quite simple. They were my grandmother’s. She gave them to Mom, and now I have them. They’re a bit chipped and worn on the bottom, but I don’t think that sort of thing bothers angels.

      I hope your celebrations are filled with blessings. Unwrap a few memories while you’re at it. The nice thing about unwrapping memories is, you don’t even have to save the paper and ribbons.

      1. I like that sketch and quote.

        We have some family events planned. Weather will not be an issue for travel. It should be a very pleasant time.

        Thank you for your thoughtful posts. They are always well-crafted and interesting.

  3. Linda, thanks for all the wonderful posts this last year, and also for piquing my interest in Etheree poetry:-)

    A merry Christmas to you and Dixie.

    1. After so many observations about the Christmas tree form of the single etheree, Sandi, it was special fun to create one just for the holiday.

      It’s hard to believe another year is upon us, but so it is. Who knows what challenges and delights it will bring? I think we’ll cope, whatever comes.

  4. What a gift your Christmas greeting is — poem, photo, sentiments. Thank you and best wishes to you for a very merry Christmas.

    1. Isn’t it a delight when everything fits together so nicely, Rosemary? Your “peace” watercolor sketch is another example. I’m just so taken with it. There’s nothing wrong with lions and lambs, but they have become a tiny bit clichéd.

      By the way — the cookies came out beautifully. Thanks for sharing the recipe, and Merry Christms to you.

  5. Oh, I love this! All good wishes for this Festive Season, Linda, in our currently blood- darkened world. We need all the light we can bring forth, both individually and at a community level. You certainly contribute a very fair share….

    1. Thank you, Anne. Again, I’m glad you escaped any direct effects from the terrible events there, and I do hope some answers can be found that will speed healing for the victims and their families.

      It’s just before sunset here. After days of gloom, the clouds are breaking, and the houses are glowing. I hope your holidays also fairly glow, filled with warmth and love.

    1. And now you know why there’s a very special bag still sitting in the trunk of the car. It doesn’t take any more than a minute for the aroma of fresh cat grass or catnip to catch someone’s attention.
      The animator surely does get all the details right, doesn’t he? I laughed in recognition all the way through, and every time Dixie hears that cat chirping, she’s all ears.

      Merry Christmas to you, and every good wish for a new year that’s bound to be (as we say) “interesting.” Keep an eye on the weather, too. There are indications there might be some real winter on the way.

    1. Many thanks, eremophila. I’m going to be doing just a little traveling over the next days — if I see those decorated trees, I’ll give them greetings from your mysterious Santa!

    1. Absolutely, those acres of Iowa qualify as stomping grounds. It may have been a few decades since I did any stomping, but it’s only been about four years since I was back — amazing how many memories can be refreshed in a quick trip.

      I’m so glad you liked the poem, and I wish you and your family (and your crew!) a Christmas filled with happiness and joy. I’m looking forward to sharing 2015 with you.

    1. Thanks, Melanie. I just got a couple of quilted pieces from my aunt for Christmas. When I see her Christmas day, I’m going to tell her about your site, and get a cousin to bookmark it for her. She’s slowed down quite a bit, but I know she’ll enjoy browsing through it.

      Enjoy your family time, and the festivities.

        1. I’ll do that.I had to smile at your comment. A friend and I just were talking the other day about how unnerving it can be to realize that we’re very close to being the elders. Oops. How did that happen?

    1. Thanks, Terry. I’m looking forward to some famly time, and maybe, just maybe, some fishing time, down on the coast. We’ll see how the weather holds. It looks like you have a white Christmas in your future. Whatever comes, I know you’ll enjoy it. My best to you and yours!

    1. That’s one of the virtues of this poetic form, Curt. The so-called etheree has ten lines, with words going from one syllable to ten. I’ve just been waiting for a chance to put the tree shape to this wholly appropriate use.

      Speaking of sweet and curious, I’m sure you’ll be sharing some time with your grandkids this holiday Enjoy the festivities.

  6. That is a lovely ornament, Linda. She shows the wear of many Christmases but with a beauty that time cannot diminish. And your layout of the poem is delightful.
    Merry Christmas to you.

    1. She is a pretty one, isn’t she, Steve? Ageless, too — there’s no mold on those wings, slimy or otherwise.

      I hope the season’s festive for you, and the New Year filled with all good things. I’m looking forward to seeing the world through your eyes and lens(es) in the months to come.

  7. Your addition of the two-syllable-wide trunk is a novel touch. (assuming you hear the word as blessèd).

    You may be aware that angelos in ancient Greek meant ‘messenger,’ and the ev- at the beginning of evangel adds the meaning ‘good.’ Etymology can be a good messenger too.

    1. I like that trunk very much. Once I began thinking of the Etheree as an intentional tree, it was an obvious addition. You’re right about the two-syllable lines. Because I read “blessèd” that way, I didn’t think to add the accent, but now I have.

      I dithered a little over the title. At one point, I even considered “The Awkwardest Angel,” but that was just too kitschy, and didn’t fit the poem. So I went back to “euaggélion” and worked my way through the options.

      Apart from the Christmas resonance, I like “Evangel” for another reason. It reminded me to pull my “Evangeline” posts up from the bottom of the draft pile, and start thinking about polishing them up for 2015.

    1. I don’t think there’s much that could surpass your year-end photo collection, Arti, but if you’re out and about and happen to see the Dove of Peace, please try to get a photo for us!

      All good wishes to you and yours. I know you’ll treasure every moment with them.

  8. And a blessed Christmas to you, too!

    And, thanks for the education. Thanks for the entertainment. And, thanks for sharing that deep sense of humanity you possess.

    Looking forward to more in 2015.

    Andrew

    1. I’m thrilled to see you have a Christmas story for us, Andrew. If I’m very good and finish my chores early, I’ll have time to read it tonight. Otherwise, I’ll get to it right after Christmas Day.

      I used to follow a woman who maintained an active website for Caribbean writers. I need to see if she still is hosting it. It would be a great place for you to link your work. I’ll explore that after Christmas, too.

      My best to you and your family. May the joys of the Season be yours, and may the coming year be prosperous and joyful.

      Linda

  9. Everything counts, every one counts, always. Amen.

    I’m thinking of you, dear Linda, and sending Merry Christmas thoughts and wishes to you. Much love now, and in the New Year to come. xoxo

    1. You know, Bellezza, I just had a thought: it may even be possible that even imperfection counts, always. If that’s true, we’re blessed, indeed.

      I’m looking forward to enjoying the new year with you. Maybe 2015 will be the year I finally take active part in one of the reading challenges. It’s about time, don’t you think?

  10. Meltingly endearing – poem and angel. Somehow I like the little angel’s scrapes and smudges – looks like she’s been busy over the years doing angel work. (Title instantly brought up “Evangeline”…mind is funny like that – adds stuff it wants you to think about?)

    So you’re off traveling? Safe and interesting roads until you return. HUGS (and putting off empanadas until you return. Time slips past me so fast and I get less and less done. Christmas lagged a bit here, but dug out my entire, rather large Christmas CD collection – and an old boom box, so it’s better now. I used to listen to them year round and may start that again. That Elvis could sing a good carol – brought up right, right?)

    Merry Merriest Christmas ever!

    1. Angel work is hard, Phil. And, yes: evangel leads almost inexorably to Evangeline. I need to get cracking on my Evangeline posts for several reasons: not the least of which is that I have an Evangeline table hand-made in Maine that I really do want to show off (along with the furniture-maker who created it).

      I’ll be setting down in two places this weekend: Alamo Plaza in San Antonio first, then a fishing camp in Port O’Connor. Would you like to place any bets about which I’m most excited about?

      Here’s one of my favorites, just to help along the mood. Merry Christmas ~ see you soon.

    1. Merry Christmas to you, Teresa. Needless to say, I thought of you when I titled this “Evangel.” I hope your Christmas day was delightful. Best wishes for the rest of the holiday season, and the New Year.

  11. Simply beautiful, Linda! Must be hard work, being an angel. I watched ‘It’s a Wonderful Life’ again last night — the doggone thing ALWAYS makes me cry! George Bailey wasn’t an easy person to be a guardian angel to, but Clarence was definitely up for the task. Merry Christmas to you (and that snow I told you about? Well, it came down fast and furious for a while, but it never stuck, so we didn’t get a White Christmas, either!)

    1. There are a lot of people who enjoy “It’s A Wonderful Life.” I checked the number of searches for that film vs. “A Christmas Story,” and “Wonderful Life” wins by a huge margin. I wouldn’t be surprised if part of the reason’s the human incilnation to hope for guardian angels.

      Christmas Day was lovely in San Antonio — sunny, and relatively warm. Today, it’s warmer, cloudy and drizzly, and it looks like another cold front’s on the day. SA television’s using that phrase so dear to the heart of snow-loving Texans: “wintry mix,” for the New Year. I doubt if Houston will be in ilne for that, but you never know.

      Enjoy the rest of your time with Domer!

    1. Holiday wishes to you, Nia. I hope your Christmas was lovely, and that your New Year is filled with goodness. A couple I’ve met on the internet just made a trip to Istanbul. You might enjoy seeing their record of the trip here.

  12. I love it when you compose your etheree poems. This one is very meaningful, in a few well-chosen words and expressions you said it all. A difficult task no doubt. A difficult task for this sweet Angel too.

    I wish you a wonderful New Year, Linda and I thank you for your words and thoughts and writings always so appreciated.

    1. I enoy the etherees, too, Isa. I never know when one is going to present itself. Usually, I’ll have a line or two come to mind, or a phrase. If it seems it would do well in this form, I start pondering. The nice thing is that I can ponder in traffic, or at work, or while vacuuming. The lines are short enough that they can be jotted down in rough form, and assembled later.

      My aunt gave me a pair of small quilted pieces for Christmas, and of corse I thought of you. I hope your 2015 is filled with new, creative ventures — if not quilting, then photography, or writing. I’d bet on there being a quilting project or two, though!

    1. Merry Christmas, Dana, and best wishes for the New Year. I hope you’ve missed any travel troubles, and enjoyed the holidays. Here comes 2015 — ready or not. Maybe this will be the year that sanity finally prevails. If not? Well, here’s to better coping skills!

    1. I did have a safe journey. It was enjoyable, too. Any Christmas that includes shrimp etoufee and homemade tamales has to be good, right? Not only that, I learned how the State of Texas takes care of typos on their historical markers. Photo to follow along, shortly. My, did I laugh.

      I hope your Christmas was delightful, and that your upcoming travels are safe ones, too.

    1. Thanks, Yvonne. Of course, I’m one who loves to celebrate the full Twelve Days, and usually don’t tear down all the decorations until Epiphany. I’m counting on people understanding, because I still have a few cards, letters and gifts to share.

      Just for you – here’s a photo of Dixie Rose with one of her presents. She unwrapped it all by herself.

  13. A very Merry, if somewhat belated, Christmas, Linda! (I had computer problems.) I love your sweet little angel, and your beautiful and touching Christmas tree-shaped poem. I will have to keep that close. It bears reading many times, and not just at Christmas.

    xoxo
    Susan

    1. Computer problems for you, self-inflicted phone problems for me. But here we are, up and running. As I said to Yvonne, the Christmas season starts on December 25 and continues until Epiphany, January 6, so you could have dallied until after New Year’s and Christmas wishes still would be in order!

      I’m glad you noticed the poem could apply at the 4th of July as well as at Christmas. It’s a poem for all people and all seasons, too — even the season of ordinary days.

      I saw the novel on your blog — can’t wait to read it and compare notes.

    1. The “tree” shape is inherent in the structure of the etheree — ten lines, from one syllable in the first to ten in the last. I wasn’t sure I could make a Christmas poem to reflect the shape, but my little angel helped.

      If I ever were do put these together in a collection, “ethereal” is one word that occurs in the working title. Your comment’s a nice affirmation that it might work. Thanks!

    1. Christmas was filled with wonder, Kayti, especially if you count the dude in the elf suit with the miniature pig… More about him later.

      I’m ready for the new year. Every lick of Christmas decoration has been put away. By the end of the day all of the emails, comments, and cards will have been made or delivered. Tomorrow is house-cleaning, and then it’s time to get back into the routine of work and writing. I am looking forward to it. I have plans, don’t you know?

      Happy New Year to you and Dr. Advice ~ my very best to you both. (I thought about you when I heard the news about the little earthquake off the coast up by Ferndale. I’m glad there was no damage. And how there’s been another, I think — apparently also damage-free. Begone, I say to those earthquakes.)

    1. Santa’s season is short, but angels are seasonless — especially the self-effacing ones. I’m glad you liked my little angel, Otto, and the poem. I enjoyed re-reading it myself.

Leave a Reply

