35 thoughts on “Storm Surges

    1. montucky,

      Of course you’d enjoy the image equally – beautiful images are your specialty!

      Thanks for stopping by and for the kind words – I hope your time with your family’s been wonderful.

      Linda

  1. oooeee….how I enjoyed the last lines in particular – the cerulean, the tangerine, the goldenrod skies. The poet’s brush is so finely tuned… and the moon’s misstep and then disappearance…why does that work so well when speaking of the moon in the night (cloudy) sky?

    Hats off – yes, as mentioned above, the enjoyment of this is heightened by the picture. You hit the poetic heart here, Linda.

    1. oh,

      I’ve been wondering if the drought hasn’t heightened my appreciation for all things painterly – we’re starved for color here, in a world increasingly turned to shades of brown.

      And yes – poor, clumsy moon! Aren’t we glad she dusted herself off and came back?!

      So glad you enjoyed it – enjoy your holiday, too!

      Linda

    1. Teresa Evangeline,

      Right now, I’d be happy with gray and black skies – a whole lot of Texans are trying to pull tropical storm Lee our direction, without very much success.

      But amethyst skies are lovely, and I’m glad to liked that image – the photo, too. I love the way black and white or sepia changes an image and gives it a different tone – in a variety of ways!

      Linda

  2. Poor dissolving earth’s palette may be drab, but yours is not. This is beautiful; I could see it all, particularly the stumbling moon.

    Thank you (the photograph is wonderful, too!).

    1. ds,

      Glad you liked it. I stumble a little myself with poetry, but sometimes it’s the only thing that will do – as you so well know!

      We’re still hoping for some dissolving earth. I’m sitting here watching the western edge of Lee across the bay. I’m not quite sure any of that rain is going to make it across – we’d welcome a little surge of water!

      I hope you have lovely things planned for the weekend – hard to believe it’s September already.

      Linda

  3. What a tumultuous summer it has been for Texas. And yet, despite the temperamental happenings, you still can glean poetry. I love what you’ve written here, Linda, words and sound. I hope that the wildfire can be contained soon, and that gentle rain will fall after Lee is gone. I look forward to more poetry amidst them all. Stay safe.

    1. Arti,

      I was so surprised to discover the connection between the Bastrop fire and Terrence Malik. Even the Tree of Life can’t stand against such wind and flames, apparently. As you say, we’ll hope for restoration and regrowth – although so much of what was lost I’ll never see again in my lifetime.

      We’re safe for now, although the smoke from distant fires is palpable. That’s all right – with the lovely breezes and cooler air, I’m certainly not going to close my windows!

      Linda

  4. Linda: What a beautiful photograph! I hope you get some rain out of this storm. Bastrop and east of Austin is having a terrible time I hear. Print the photograph and sell it! Course, not all of our labors are for profit.

    1. Jack,

      You know, I’ve sold a few magazine articles – just enough to make me think I’d prefer not to expend much of my energy in merchandising. If I were 30 years old, or even 40, my perspective might be different. But now? There’s not enough time to build yet another career, so I’ll just keep doing what I’m doing, honing my craft and seeing where things lead naturally.

      But I’m glad you like the photo. I’m such a clunky photographer and even clunkier processor I’m always standing around in amazement when something “works”.

      It is bad in Bastrop – and now west of Austin, and in San Antonio, and north of us around Tyler, Gladewater, Giddings and so on. An artist friend in Dripping Springs is trying to figure out how to get her supplies out if evacuation’s called for. At least with a hurricane you have more time – as you so well know.

      Linda

    1. Susan,

      Thanks so much. There seems to be a lot of water imagery flowing these days – and why not? There’s a magic to it, a pull that very little else in nature exerts.

      I’m glad you liked it.

      Linda

    1. Bella,

      Of course those lines would catch you, – you can take the waterman’s daughter away from the sea, but you can’t take the sea away… And so on and so forth.

      It’s good to have you back with us. Go sniff that clematis for me!

      Linda

    1. Mary Ellen,

      Your “small stones” were an inspiration, you know. Little by little, I’m moving away from the (sometimes necessary but occasionally prissy) academic approach to language in favor of – well, this.

      So good to see you – I heard via a friend that jackets are being pulled out in your part of the country. How wonderful!

      Linda

    1. Jeannine,

      Ah, ha! No wonder you focused on that – I remember your fondness for pink and green. Lime and fuschia are just the neon versions!

      It won’t be long until you’ll have a riot of color around you again – happy Spring!

      Linda

    1. Andrew,

      Thank you so much. It occurs to me – when clouds begin to start streaming across the sky in long, regular bands as they often do before a storm, they’re called “cloud streets”. So, this is another form of “street photography”!

      I’m enjoying your trip very much – wonderful images.

      Linda

  5. Beautiful! It very suddenly turned fall here – one day it was 90 & the next it was 60. So I’m seeing this poem through my “sad-to-see-summer-go” eyes – it is gunmetal gray here today for sure.

    1. Bug,

      Sixty degrees! What a treat. I remember those years when I was sad to see summer go, but this year? The sooner gone and replaced by gray the better – preferably nice, wet gray.

      I happened to have Coast to Coast on while I was getting settled here. George Noory was asking all his listeners to focus their psychic energy on a deluge of rain for central Texas. If you see a CNN special report about floods in the hill country tomorrow, you’ll know what happened. ;-)

      Linda

  6. Is this a poem or a prayer? For I think of you each and every day as I see film of wildfires and photos of your parched earth. We have had the gunmetal skies here over the past few days, and cold temperatures — certainly more than a bit of water. And I wish I could siphon it off, send it to you.

    On a totally unrelated note, I’ve been having great fun playing with some of the lovelies in your boxes! Soon I’ll have some things to post!

    1. jeanie,

      There have been some videos and photos of the firestorms posted that could just as easily be “storm surges”. If you haven’t seen it, there’s an absolutely extraordinary video shot by some folks who were forced by the fire to turn around. I get nervous every time I watch it..

      I’ve got a little project ready to start myself – one that will tickle you to death. No hints, though – it’s too good to ruin with “peeks”. It will be done by early October. ;-) I can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to!

      Linda

  7. Beautiful and inspiring. Love your word pairings:

    “cerulean tangos beneath tangerine clouds
    amethyst breezes
    and goldenrod skies.”

    I’ve never thought of using “Goldenrod” to describe the sky, or “tangerine” to describe clouds…

    I also love the photo.
    and too I hope you get rain soon.

    1. dearrosie,

      Well, we don’t have rain, but at least we have one of your DC-10 air tankers to spread fire retardant. I couldn’t help but laugh when I saw the photos of the tankers working – that retardant makes some “tangerine clouds” for sure.

      I’m glad you liked the poem – one day we’ll get some watery surge again – I’m sure of it!

      Linda

    1. Juliet,

      Thanks so much for stopping by – and for the kind words. There’s not much color in our world these days – funny how too much water and not enough water can evoke the same kind of longings.

      Linda

Leave a Reply

