26 thoughts on “Stopping by Life on a New Year’s Evening

  1. Lovely. I have shied away from resolutions this year, as well, except to try to take time for more writing. Perhaps the other improvements will come – or I won’t mind so much remaining my own flawed self. Journey well through your own dark woods filling with snow.

    Mary Ellen,

    I began changing the nature of my resolutions about three years ago. A dear friend resolved to lose ten pounds. She did, by March 1. Then, she proceeded to add fifteen pounds in the next six months. “Quantifiable and specific” may be good, but there’s obviously a downside, too!

    I tend now toward the sort of thing that can be carried through a year. Last year I resolved to de-clutter my living space by this January 1. It required a bit of a push in December, but it’s done, and I’m thrilled. I donated, sold, threw, consigned and gifted my way to extra space and organized paperwork. Now, we’ll see if I can do as well with a couple of projects I have for this year. Changing habits can be more satisfying than achieving goals, and the benefits tend to linger.

    A joyous New Year to you, and wishes that you’ll find the time to nurture your creativity.

    Linda

  2. It’s funny that you posted this. I have been explaining to Snow White how I’ve come to care less about New Year’s as I’ve determined that it is little more than an arbitrary day that was picked out as the beginning of a span of time that man invented to mark and manage time itself and is really nothing more than an excuse to get loaded and do things that can be excused by others much more easily than the other 364 days. Yet, often times, we never forgive ourselves for our antics of the night.

    It’s a bummer but if you think about it, countless lives have been destroyed, physically or otherwise, for a meaningless night. Guess I’m getting old. But, even when I used to drink it was getting pretty lame because I didn’t need an excuse to drink and typically I refrained.

    symonsez,

    Arbitrary as it is (and it is, of course), I still find the New Year holiday one of the most pesonally meaningful days of the year. I’ve celebrated in a multitude of ways, some rather unique if not flat strange, but I love pausing to mark the day and sense the passing of time.

    Your remarks about drinking brought to mind a slight paraphrase of the Eagles’ “Hotel California” lyrics – some drink to remember, some drink to forget.
    Although I’m not opposed to drinking I rarely do, and that’s taught me another lesson I didn’t mention: it’s no fun being sober at a party filled with serious drinkers. ;-)

    I suppose in the end I love most the freshness and possibility of a new year. It’s a way of claiming a truth a friend used to sum up in the phrase, “The past is forgiven, and the future is open”. That’s exciting just to think about!

    Linda

  3. Hi Linda:

    Even though it might sound outdated, I still believe in New Year’s Resolution. I have three, and the determination is there, to have all of them fulfilled before the year is over. Fire in the belly, is what makes these resolutions come true.

    I hope the demons which invaded your computer have decided to seek refuge elsewhere. Happy New Year and keep those posts coming.

    Warm Hugs,

    Omar.-

    Omar,

    As you can see from my comment to Mary Ellen, my approach to resolutions has been to shift the focus a bit rather than to eliminate them. Rather than setting specific goals (e.g., lose ten pounds) I’ve begun setting directions. An example would be “Fewer calories, more exercise”.

    One result is that daily victories become more possible. When I’m standing in the line at the grocery store and see that Hershey bar, if I think to myself, “I don’t need those calories” and move on, it’s a small victory. If I decide to walk to the drugstore instead of getting in the car and driving, it’s a small victory. Eventually, enough of those little victories and I’ll meet a larger goal – but it’s a matter of resolve, rather than specific resolutions.

    In the end we’re doing the same thing, though we may approach it differently. Last year I met my “de-cluttering” goal in my living space. This year, I’ll do the same with my photos and my computer files – even though that may turn out to be less of a sorting process than I’d imagined. And like you, I have three little goals for the new year posted where I can see them at my desk. Let’s hope we’re both successful.

    Best wishes to you and your loved ones for a peaceful and prosperous New Year.

    Linda

  4. Linda,

    I had a writing teacher in college who advised: “Write to express, not to impress.” Kids know that. Then we forget. Then we remember after hearing BS for too many years. That’s when we can re-appreciate the simplicity of a poem like “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.”

    If we keep the expectations we have for ourselves simple, too, I think we can make gentle, positive changes.
    Thanks for your beautiful posts and Happy 2011!

    Claudia

    Claudia,

    Simplicity is the key that unlocks so many doors – in writing, in resolution-making, in life.

    Well, that, and flexibility. When I’m sailing from Point A to Point B, I have a destination and a course. But conditions are variable. Winds shift, gear breaks, seas build or tides change, and all of those conditions require adjustment. Changing course to allow for conditions isn’t failure – quite the opposite. I’ve known some sailors who refused to adjust for one reason or another, and a few of them no longer have a boat. As in sailing, so in life – I’ve not much taste for landing on the rocks.

    Fair winds to you in the New Year!

    Linda

  5. I’ve never been one to make resolutions~somehow I’ve always realized the futility of the process, at least in my case! And the last thing I need is something else to feel guilty about, when I’m unable to keep them.

    I tend to use the advent of a new year as time to reflect rather than resolve. Often the reflection leads me to new avenues of thought, new things I’d like to try, or something I could do.

    This Frost poem is one of my favorites. The words and the rhythm are poignant, yet there is optimism in the final refrain…there is much left in life to do and see and become in life. So shake off the traces, and get going!

    Becca,

    Strangely, this started out to be a piece more directly concerned with reflection. I’ve been thinking a lot about some of the “better” New Year’s eves I’ve experienced, and none of them involved partying. Being snowed in at the Frankfort airport, attending a watch night service and feeling the tolling of the great bells, spending time in a Texas cabin with a wood stove, Coleman lanterns and water carried in a bucket – those were the best.

    One of my friends commented recently that she’s never bored when she’s by herself. Today, I understand that, and it’s changed my definition of a “good” celebration as well as the way I live my life generally. “Shake off the traces, and get going!”, indeed. It’s a perfect prescription for a new year!

    Linda

  6. The mortality of New Year resolutions is well known, and maybe it’s a function of our imagining that a resolution to live better is somehow sanctified if it is made on January 1.

    I’m for making resolutions on any day, as often as possible, as often as necessary. It’s the optimist in me, expressed better than I can in lyrics written by Gregory Norbet while he was a brother in the Order of St. Benedict: May our weary hearts /find their calm in listening / to the voice of one that stirs within / calling us to feel our lives as song and dance / a people born to rise, and rise again!

    Charles,

    Reading your words about “making resolutions on any day…as often as necessary”, in tandem with Norbet’s lyric about “a people born to rise, and rise again”, I can’t help but think of the number of times I’ve lain in bed in the morning listening to the cat yowl for breakfast while I think, “OK. Let’s see if we can’t get a little more done today”, or, “Well, maybe today will be better”.

    We do rise and rise again in the most literal sense – every day of our lives. It might not be entirely far-fetched to call each of those risings a “little resolution”. Perhaps the relationship of New Year’s Day to all the other days of our lives is akin to the relationship of Easter to each and every Sunday. Interesting to think about, in any event.

    Norbet’s music is lovely, and his wife’s icons simply beautiful. It cheers me immensely to see such things being made.

    Linda

  7. The first of the year is both an arbitrary date and a significant one. It’s a point in the Earth’s nearly-circular orbit around the sun, an orbit that has no real beginning or end. But because we’ve chosen to keep track of the cycles, New Year’s Day gives us a chance to say, “Here we go again!” and ask, “How do I want to use this coming trip around the sun?”

    As you said, we don’t know how many trips we have left, so we might as well get the most out of each one. But we need reminding, don’t we? That’s the value of New Year’s Day, and of your wonderful blog. “New woods, new promises, new miles to go.” Thank you, Linda, and happy new year!

    Charles,

    Of course we need reminding – but not in any glum, “you’d-better-shape-up-now-young-man-young-woman” sense. It’s just that, left to our own devices, we get caught up in the minutiae or the struggles of life. We grow bored or inattentive. We run on autopilot. We need a tap on the shoulder from someone willing to say, “You’d better pay attention. Time’s a-wastin’.” If we happen to get that shove from the universe – well, so be it.

    No one’s said it better or more succinctly than Annie Dillard – “How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives.” And we might as well spend, since we really can’t take it with us.

    Linda

  8. Ah, the deceptively simple wisdom of Mr. Frost! I so love that poem. And how wise your parents were, to leave you all the trappings of New Year’s Eve, so you could have a celebration, too.

    Now we know that noisemakers break, that tinsel is fake, that alcohol does not a great party make (I’m no teetotaler, but I don’t get hangovers, either). And resolutions? I don’t know. This year, I took the word to mean “ending” and also “determination.” Time will tell whether that was the right choice.

    Happy New Year, Linda! May 2011 be very very good to you!

    ds,

    We’re blessed by our rich, layered language. I love your emphases for “resolution”, and it occurs to me we’d be so much better off if there were a few more “resolute” leaders among us. Or fewer. I’ll have to think about that.

    You’ve had such a wonderful, creative year. I’m looking forward to peeking into the window even more often in the year to come – that’s one of my resolutions!

    Linda

  9. This poem is a favorite. When I discovered my health problems may well cut short the 90-something divinely healthy years I expected to live, I really began to realize the importance of living each and every day — as fully and as well as I can. To sip and savor, laugh and cherish the tears as well. I do have miles to go before I sleep and I don’t want to sleep any too soon.

    Resolutions — none for me; the list would be too long, and would I really do them anyway? If I have one thought, it is to be more conscious of each and every thing, each and every day. I have noticed lots of bloggers are picking “words of the year” and I rather like that idea. But I’m having a devil of a time coming up with one. “Create.” “Focus.” “Finish.” “Discover.” They seem to be things I should be doing just as a matter of course. Perhaps my challenge is to dig out from under the sand and simply be. With a minimum of judgment (but some!). Who knows. Not me — all I know is when I come here you set me to thinking and that’s not a bad thing!

    jeanie,

    I remember the day one of life’s little absurdities became clear to me. I was chatting with a colleague. Our conversation took a turn that lead her to ask, “What would you do, if you knew you were going to die?” “What do you mean, ‘if’?” I asked, bubbling over with laughter.

    I’ve thought about that exchange many times since. It’s helped to bring me to the place you describe – a place where I try to live each day fully, with increasing sensitivity and receptivity. There are people among us wasting their lives in bitterness, anger, consumption, and envy, folks who confuse pleasure with distraction. I know you could add to the list. Over the past two decades, I’ve made decisions that have moved me away from that world, and I don’t regret a single one.

    I don’t know why it should be so, but the thought of picking a “word of the year” reminds me of this passage from Annie Dillard:

    “There is always the temptation in life to diddle around making itsy-bitsy friends and meals and journeys for years on end. It is all so self conscience, so apparently moral…But I won’t have it. The world is wilder than that in all directions, more dangerous…more extravagant and bright. We are…raising tomatoes when we should be raising Cain, or Lazarus.”

    Rather than picking a word and imposing it on the year, I think I’d rather see what the year has to say. It might be wilder and more dangerous than any word I’d pick!

    Linda

  10. Linda

    Thanks for your reply on the Eliot piece. And you have done it again! This poem by Robert Frost is another of my great favourites. At times when I am feeling melancholy, I repeat that last verse to myself, and it always brings me comfort.

    Here, for you, is my New Year reflection, just posted:
    The year begins……with Dylan Thomas and ancient Akkadians !” I changed the original title.

    All good wishes for 2011 – I will also be dropping in to see you more often this year.

    Anne ( no longer snowbound)

    Anne,

    In the midst of the celebrating, isn’t it funny how we suddenly feel the time has come to move on, no matter the date on the calendar? Like you, I can experience that impulse with the tree and the season generally. But it comes at other times, too, and when it does, I obey the impulse as best I can. It can be extraordinarily strong and clear, though I haven’t a clue what its source might be.

    I smiled to see your Thomas reference. I’ve been having a bit of a quarrel with him for some months over “Do not go gentle into that good night…” One of these days I’ll straighten out my thoughts and post something.

    When I looked at this phrase above – “standing at the threshold of a new year, sensing how few may be left to me” – I remembered your post entitled “Just Let Me Grow Old, OK?” and went over to re-read it. The centuries may change, but the journey is remarkably similar.

    Best wishes for the coming journey.

    Linda

  11. Linda: This piece served as a beautiful and precise reminder of just what it is that makes life worth living– that ability and willingness to find and honor in the quiet things and the everyday, that which is most meaningful, graceful and dignified. The choice of Frost’s poem, couldn’t have been better.

    I did make resolutions for this year even though I had thought of not doing so. As you pointed out they are quickly broken. And in my case I usually set the bar too high and was bound to be disappointed. So this year I aimed for principles rather specifics–I will lose weight, rather than I will lose 15 pounds. I will be more careful with how I spend my time rather than I will never watch television again. We’ll seek how this works.

    Oh yes, this year my wife and I brought in the New Year with pizza, a glass of wine and a good video (Crazy Heart). No party. It was great.

    Happy New Year.

    Mike,

    Meaning, grace and dignity – a better trinity couldn’t be found for a new year, or a life. Both of us know what a life without those qualities looks like – your photographs of the Craft Center, for example, make it all too clear.

    I began using principles rather than specifics last year, and found it worked quite well. Not only that, principles can be re-used. One of my four – “Less Clutter, More Clarity” – produced a de-cluttered living space by the end of last year. Being able to find anything I want without having to grub through a closet or a stack of papers is really quite a remarkable experience. This year, the same principle needs to be applied to my computer files and boxes of photographs. Obviously, I’m working my way up to mental clutter – and I suppose it’s clear that clutter in writing isn’t a good thing, either.

    It occurs to me – if celebrations require a crowd, a band, fancy clothes and confetti, their number necessarily is limited. If all it requires to celebrate is pizza, wine, a video and a loved one, every day’s a potential celebration. That’s nice.

    Linda

  12. “…to stop in the midst of our own journey, to watch the world transform itself before our eyes, to live without fear of its darkness and be moved by the voices that sweep along its edges.”

    Lovely.

    Happy new Year to you. I’m now following your blog on blogger, which is part of my new year resolutions…to read the blogs I really like more often.

    Damyanti,

    If I could save only one line from this piece, it would be the one you’ve highlighted. I do none of those things perfectly, but I’ve had enough experience of each to know they are possible, and I need to remind myself from time to time of those possibilities.

    I’m smiling, now. One of my four “principles” for this year is “more disciplined reading”, and that includes blogs as well as books. There’s such richness in the blogging world, and so little time. But, I’ve set up a system now which I hope will get me into a rhythm. You’ll be seeing me a bit more, too!

    Best wishes for the New Year.

    Linda

  13. A guy told me a long time ago that when you start liking Country Music and think Rock and Roll is getting too loud, then you’re getting old. I’m halfway there as I listen to sports radio most of the time. I’m kinda bland on birthdays, too. I forgot my 21st birthday until my parents called me up. When you start drinking at 14 or 15 and the drinking age is 18, then the 18th doesn’t mean much and 21 is even less worthy. I think I had homework to do. So, I guess the day isn’t as lame as I am.

    People rarely change their lives due to a day on the calendar but instead change when they change their hearts…unless they were like you and refused to tarnish their heart of gold! I like your posts…they stimulate thought…even ones as boring and lame as mine. So, while I snore away in my boring little world, live it up!

    symonsez,

    Oh, come now. Willie and Waylon and the Boys could do a pretty good job of making the pastures outside Luckenbach ring! I’ll grant you they’re not the Stones, but they’re not Dolly Parton or the Oakridge Boys either.

    As for the drinking, both of us came up in an era when it was much more a right of passage, and social life generally was more organized around drinking – at least as I remember it. Forty years ago we went to clubs to drink. Now, I don’t often go to a club but when I do it’s for the music, and we stick with the drink minimum. I will say this – I hardly can type the words “apricot brandy” without having to go find some fresh air. We all have our stories, and that one’s mine. There were a few years when I couldn’t even eat apricots. :-)

    But you’re exactly right – it’s the change of heart that counts. That, and an engagement of the will. Probably my favorite quotation ever from the world of religion is Martin Luther’s, “You can’t stop the birds from flying around your head, but you can keep them from building a nest in your hair.” Trust me – I’ve had a few nests to get rid of in my time, and any wisdom I might possess comes from that process.

    As for boring – from a certain perspective I live the most boring life possible. On the other hand, while I was out on the docks yesterday, sanding away, I found a single rose floating by in the water. I heard “my” pair of ospreys calling to one another and watched one weather system stream away to the southeast while the first hints of a new low came in from the west. Not many people in their cubicles or glass-encased corner offices got to see and hear those things – for any number of reasons.

    Best wishes for your new year, and your new ventures.

    Linda

  14. I, too, am one who finds this jaarwisseling, changing of the year, very meaningful, Linda. Tradition grounds us and gives structure to our years, regardless of how it might change over time.

    I’ve not been one to make new resolutions for years but I love a clean slate on which to write new words/thoughts. This year what Christopher Robin says to Winnie the Pooh has stuck with me: “You’re braver than you believe, and stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” I wonder how often I’ll need to recall that wisdom this year!

    Ginnie,

    What wonderful words – and in your case, how very, very true. Thinking of all your grand leaps over the past couple of years, I remember a few of my own, and am astonished yet again.

    Kierkegaard had it right when he said, “Life must be understood backwards; but… it must be lived forward”. I think that’s part of the appeal of the new year for me – it’s that still point between past and future where we stop to look back, and then resolve to move forward. Of course we can make resolutions any day of the year, but there’s something about the traditions of the changing year which support and nurture us.

    Perhaps that’s why your photographs of the windmills stir me as they do. Their constant turning is a reminder of life, and of the promise of the song – that by “turning, turning, we’ll come ’round right”.

    Linda

  15. I’m not a fan of New Years Eve, like you I tend to think of the shorter time left to me each year! Not something I want to dwell on.
    I always feel relieved when the 1st of January dawns and maudlin thoughts are over for another year.
    Happy New Year Linda!

    Jeannine,

    At least you don’t have the winter gloomies to go along with all those maudlin thoughts! Just ease on back in your chair and watch those cavorting hordes on the beach. I hope they’ve been doing their part to support your new venture, so you can afford your view for years and years to come!

    Happy New Year!

    Linda

  16. Well done Linda! We have long been non celebrators of New Year’s Eve – gotten old before our time I guess! My hubby’s philosophy is this anyway: Your BIRTHDAY is the beginning of your new year!

    Actually – I do enjoy the holiday time and while I never make it to midnight, the new year does provide some kind of a fresh new start. Although, being in education, I’ve always said that my year is September – August! While New Year’s Eve was only 1 week ago – it already seems like longer than that.

    No resolutions here either…..too easily broken. I’ve finally learned to accept myself just the way I am….not perfect (who is?), hopefully a good person, hopefully a good mother and grandma….and to me? What else is there? (except for – hopefully a good educator!)

    Karen,

    Now, now – let’s not chalk up a preference for restrained celebration to age! That’s like saying I don’t text because I’m 65 and can’t figure out a smart phone! I prefer to think such things are a result of increased wisdom and more refined taste ;-)

    I like the thought of celebrating both personal birthdays and the corporate birthday we call the new year. O, perhaps the new year’s the earth’s birthday, which we help her celebrate. It’s all poetry, of course, but the rituals and traditions do help to mark and give meaning to time.

    It’s interesting that you point to the school year as another instance of a “personal calendar”. There have to be more – I think of the liturgical year, and the agricultural year, the cycle of planting and harvest that is cyclic and repetitive, but not at all dependent on the calendar. All of these cycles spin and spin, like wheels in wheels – and all of us live in at least two or three at once. No wonder we’re sometimes dizzy!

    Here’s to another wonderful year with children and parents – productive and, if we’re lucky, as happy as can be!

    Linda

  17. What a beautiful post! I too remember being younger and how glamorous and mysterious New Year’s Eve parties seemed…I grew out of that curiosity fairly quickly in my early twenties after a string of disappointing New Year’s parties, and now I just love the beginning of the new year – all the hope and promise it brings. We keep it quiet though, and I much prefer New Year’s Day to the night before.

    Courtney,

    I love New Year’s day myself. It always feels so “free” – no obligations or expectations. This year was a double joy. With January 1 on a Saturday, it was as though we got two holidays.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Speaking of hope and promise, you’re going to have quite a “new year” yourself. Best wishes in the coming days – for patience, among other things! And I do hope that foot’s healing as it should.

    Linda

  18. Lovely post, Linda. That’s one of my favorite poems of all time. I esp. like the last two lines… of course, we all wish we have time to go all those miles. I have long given up making new year resolutions. And if that cliché rings true, which I think it does, every day is the first day of the rest of our life… no need to wait another new year to make changes.

    But of course, the new year brings a more communal significance to newness, like ‘we’re in it together’. With this in mind, I find the blogosphere is such a space of communal existence, and feeling it more meaningful as days go by. Have a wonderful year of writing, living, and discovering, Linda!

    Arti,

    You are so right – every day can bring new understanding, new insights, fresh resolve. Of course, every day can bring new perplexities, false starts and missteps, too, but we’ll just set those aside for another time.

    It’s so clear to me that many – most! – of the same rules that apply in life are relevant to online life, and if they’re applied here the experience of blogging can be wonderful. Certainly you’ve taught me much about blogging, if only by example. I’m so glad we’ve become friends, and look forward to sharing the next year with you!

    Linda

  19. Linda,

    I’m a believer in resolutions, but I seem to be in the minority. They’re nothing more than goals and places that we’d like to see ourselves this time next year. The trick is in knowing what we need in our lives and to be realistic. Resolutions require a little introspection and a bit of commitment and we’re not always successful. That’s for sure. I suppose it’s the effort that builds character, but I do find them helpful.

    Thanks for all the wonderful writing in 2010, Linda. I’ve enjoyed it so much. I’m looking forward to more in 2011.
    Happy New Year and happy writing.
    Bella

    Bella,

    Of course you’re a fan of resolutions. You’re one of the very few people I know who consistently make them, carry them out and then are able to celebrate your success! No, you don’t always succeed – but if you did we’d have to start you on the road to sainthood. Our Lady of Perpetual Resolution – how’s that? (Hmmmm… That probably was influenced by Garrison Keillor and Lake Woebegon’s Our Lady of Perpetual Responsibility Catholic church, but never mind…)

    Realism is so important, isn’t it? I’ve known plenty of people who’ve made grandiose resolutions, and just collapse under the weight of them – so to speak. ;-) Here’s to a year filled with realistic, achievable goals – and a little dreaming to boot!

    Linda

  20. A new year still means a fresh start for me, Linda, even though I don’t go in for grand celebrations any more. I’m particularly fond of that Robert Frost poem, which I believe that it has been interepreted as a death wish by some. But what to do, except to continue on with the course of events as they unfold, and make the most of it!

    All the best for this year,
    Andrew.

    Andrew,

    I’ve heard that interpretation of the Frost poem, too – both that it expressed a death wish and that it was an acknowledgement of impending death. Dark woods, sleep imagery and so on. But like you I’m very fond of it, and love the image it paints of a quite ordinary person stopping to appreciate the extraordinary beauty of the world.

    In short – Robert Frost and his traveler as street photographers! Best wishes to you as you continue on, capturing all the beauty of your part of the world for us in the New Year!

    Linda

  21. We call the sum of these new years “life”, and the road we travel through them “living”.

    You state the obvious, yet hearing the obvious restated in this context has the impact of a good sermon. One feels chastened. I wish that I might have heard these words, pronounced in this order, decades ago. Perhaps things would have worked out better.

    Then again, perhaps not. In the spirit of your favorite T. S. Eliot, we take the ride and arrive back where we started, whereupon we know the place for the first time. It’s a zen moment: when the student is ready, a teacher will appear.

    Bogon,

    That sentence surprised me when I wrote it just a few days ago – precisely because it is so simple and so obvious. I don’t remember ever hearing life and living joined in quite that way before. That’s one of the delights of writing and thinking in tandem. Sometimes we do have new insights, and get to share them, and discover in the process how much we’ve learned over the years.

    When I was in school, I tended to think of the learning process as linear. Begin here, go there. Today – thanks partly to the lines of Eliot you’ve referenced – I think of it as a downward spiral, coming around and around but always at a deeper level. The Frost poem’s a wonderful example. I’ve read it perhaps a dozen ways in my lifetime, and each new reading is affected by new experiences and new understandings.

    And look what a delight I have for you – time, spirals and depth, all in one splendid image. Won’t it be fun if this is the right kind of clock for the New Year?

    Linda

  22. Linda, thank you for making me feel so much better about not having a word! I may have to do a post about that!

    jeanie,

    Look at it this way. If we each chose a word for the year, think how badly all the other words would feel when they weren’t chosen!
    Glad you feel better – and I think a post would be terrific. It might even be good for Chopsticks and String. Have at it!

    Linda

  23. Happy New Year to you in return, my friend.

    BW,

    It will be a happy year, indeed, if only I can carve out some time on the bayous. In the meantime, I’ll depend on you to keep me connected!

    Linda

  24. So I lobbed over here to leave a random note on a random post, and what a great one I selected! I never cared for new-year’s eve parties and sometimes wondered why I was in a room full of people I barely knew when I would prefer to spend that time with a few close sober friends or alone and looking inward and forward. Too bad I had not been given the wise advice to tell all of those people, “$&@^ goats! Get out of my yard!”

    1. Lisa,

      I enjoyed re-reading this, too! In my “old age”, I’m less inclined toward those evenings in bars and such. I’m not at all opposed to wine with dinner, some beers on a summer evening and so on – but what another friend calls “competition drinking” has lost its charm.

      The more I think about the goat advice, the funnier it gets. I can think of any number of times I should have used that line. From now on, I believe I will – although there surely will be times when thinking it will be the wiser course than saying it aloud!

      Lovely to have you stop by – glad you enjoyed this one.

      Linda

      1. So I got off my focus last time; I was going to tell you that part of the story involved an attorney down here who has turned coward when he should be helping friends get their investments back… my friends tell me one thing (two sets) and he told the opposite.. I knew who was the one in denial.. he would look at me quite funny if used that line on him!!!

        Yes, I enjoyed this visit as well! hope you get your rain soon! z

Leave a Reply

