A Prayer for Yoani Sanchez

Sailing to Havana

On the Texas coast, easterlies mean rain,  but southeast winds whisper tropical promises.  Building in like the trades, they rise after noon to blow every hint of land – burning fields, greening trees, fresh-plowed earth – back upon itself until dusk, when they quieten again.  Shaking off the lassitude of winter, sailors tack into the southerlies, working their way forward against their steady call. Along the coastal plain, gusty west winds fill with pelicans and spoonbills, and empty the bays before dying away as quickly as they came. 

But no matter the season, it is the north wind that delights.  With its restless, gypsy-like dance across the waters, it promises an irresistable bit of temperate pleasure in the midst of summer’s oppressive calms. When the wind blows freely from the north without a hint of easting, steady and unwavering as a well-trimmed craft, every sailor who has known the incomparable pleasures of long, offshore reaches begins to stand at windows or walk to doors.  Looking to the south, sniffing the air, letting the mind unwind its coils of responsibility, commitment and routine as casually as lines flipped from a cleat, they begin to dream.  With a well-found vessel and a few provisions, with fuel and water and the proper navigation tools, the course would be clear.  Passing down the Ship Channel, through the jetties and out toward blue water, leaving the tanker anchorage, the safety fairway, Heald Bank and the Flower Gardens behind, there would be only wind, water and a destination.  Set the course at 117 degrees true, make adjustments as you must, and in six days, or seven, you would be in Havana Harbor.  Seven hundred thirty-five nautical miles on the rhumb line, she’s only a long reach away on a steady norther.

In a perfect world, I would be gone: yielding to temptations I hardly can bear.  My open window faces north, scooping up the breezes.  My wind chimes, tenor in range, tuned to an Aeolian scale, ring only on winds from NW to NE. Tonight they are singing due North and my heart echoes their sound: restless, with a slightly minor stirring.  Given time and a boat, I could find my way to Havana. Laid up against the wall at Marina Hemingway, I would walk El Malecon, using my new, rudimentary Spanish to ask, “Can you help me find Yoani Sanchez?”

Finding Yoani Sanchez

 It is, of course, a fantasy.  There is much more than water that separates Galveston from Havana, and a few hundred miles of ocean are more easily overcome than the twin realities of geopolitical obstinance and dictatorial whim.  The thought of sailing away to Havana Harbor, tying up and walking over to visit Cuban blogger Yoani Sanchez clearly falls into the realm of fantasy. Recognized as such, it stands as a powerful reminder that Yoani Sanchez herself is not a metaphor, a symbol, a blank screen upon which we can project our own fantasies about the oppressed Third World writer. 

Yoani Sanchez is real, as her people are real. At this very moment, she is in Havana, living her life as you peacefully sit at your computer and read these words.  Perhaps she is reading.  Perhaps she is wondering where to find a bicycle chain, or pondering the mysterious messages painted on the broken windows of the city.  Perhaps she is taking one of the unusual red and blue buses which sit at the side of the road outside her window or perhaps (one can only hope) she is pouring her son a scarce and luxurious glass of milk.  Soon, she will be writing again, using the power of human language to bring to a world’s notice the abuse of political power.

Despite the fact that I don’t know her culture, can’t speak her language and barely comprehend the nature of the government which constrains her life, I have come to know enough of Yoani Sanchez in past months that any thought of  focusing on other things leaves me with an irrational sense of betrayal, of abandoning a friend.   A friend or two of my own say, “You can’t be responsible for everyone.  Think how many unfortunate and oppressed people exist whom you don’t know: the refugees, the prisoners, the disappeared and violated.”

And that is true.  There are many I don’t know, millions of people whose circumstances nearly defy description and whose lives are lived out in hopelessness and fear.   There was a time when I knew nothing of Yoani Sanchez.   I knew little of her country and even less about her people.  But now, I know.   I’ve taken my bite of this particular apple, and so I find myself accountable for my response.  The difficult question, of course, is the nature of my response.

However distasteful we may find it, the truth is that we are embedded in history, and it takes time for things to work themselves out.  In difficult and complex circumstances, the longings of the human heart can meet the limits of life in a clash of suffocating force. When that happens, allowing time to pass, allowing the next step to reveal itself, is difficult.   It is tempting to become impatient, and even easier to experience helplessness, anxiety and frustration.  The urge to take control, to force a turning of events simply in order to resolve the tension – the urge to DO something – can be irresistible.  It’s a generally unhelpful response, particularly since, when no other obvious solution exists, the temptation to resolve tension simply by turning away can be strong.

Kryie Eleison

Restless in the wind and feeling the call of the water, still haunted by Yoani Sanchez and uncertain which next step to take, I found myself impelled to Galveston’s shore.  Walking the edge of the same water that laps against El Malecon so many worlds away, I remembered other days when there was nothing more to do: times when clear thought dissolved into a blur of confusion, and every action proved ineffectual. Seeing those days in memory, I saw my solution as well.  Turning my gaze from the south, from the expanse of water and the impossible journey it represented, I turned instead to the north, to the little seaside town and St. Mary, Star of the Sea.

I am not a Catholic, and whether Yoani Sanchez’ beliefs are Catholic, I have no way of knowing.  But in the cathedrals of the world it is faith that matters, not definitions, and Yoani Sanchez is a person of deep and abiding faith.  She also is a person of words, and surely understands the silence that is the necessary partner of words: the seedbed that allows them to take root and flourish, the frame that surrounds their images.

In a cathedral, it is the silence that comes first.  Sitting near Mary, Star of the Sea, or Anthony, or Patrick, with their banks of votives and calm, impassive gazes focused beyond the horizon of time, silence begins to permeate the soul.  As the silence grows complete, as mind and heart are stilled by the unutterable presence of eternity, I rise and take a taper, and light a candle for Yoani Sanchez.   There is no need for specific prayer, no need for words to fill the silence.  The silence itself is prayer, and comfort, enough.

As I watch the flame, a mysterious wind sends ripples of grief through my heart like a rising wind will ruffle the waters.  But the wind lays, and the heart calms, and the grief stands revealed for what it is: a profound experience of the truth that to be human is to be limited.  The promise and the pain of faith is understanding that those limits will be overcome, but  only in due time, and by a power other than our own. 

I stand a moment longer, watching the flame, hearing the silence, feeling the grief ebb away.  As I turn toward the sunlight streaming in through the open door at the end of the nave, as I begin my long walk through the flickering shadows toward re-engagement and life, there is no need to look back.

Yoani Sanchez is safe.

 

 

COMMENTS ARE WELCOME… To leave a comment or respond to one, please click below

8 thoughts on “A Prayer for Yoani Sanchez

  1. Hi Linda,
    I first read Yoani Sanchez’s blog several months ago. Isn’t it amazing how the internet, specifically blogging, can help us better understand each other? I am often way too myopic in my thinking. Thanks for reminding me there is a whole big world out there.

    And, as always, beautifully written!

    Morning, Tee,

    We’re all myopic sometimes. In my case, it certainly isn’t that I don’t care, or don’t want to know what’s happening in the rest of the world. But there are the demands of work, and family, and all of the other civic, social and communal responsibilities that we face, and priorities have to be set.

    On the other hand, the great joy of the internet for me is that after midnight, when I’m not obligated to anything or anyone (other than a load of laundry, perhaps) I can roam and read and explore to my heart’s content. If I can’t go to Havana and meet Yoani Sanchez, I certainly can imagine her life, ponder her thoughts and hold her in my heart. In the end, who’s to say that isn’t enough?

    It’s always a delight to see you here in my little corner of the world!

    Linda

  2. Loved this entry.. I actually found you through googling her! I too am close to Galveston, I had never thought about the connection through the water..thank you for that!

    Hi, Heather,

    It’s always fun to discover a neighbor has stopped by. I first realized how significant the water is as a connector years ago, here on Clear Lake. The very shortest version of the story is this. One calm and placid Sunday morning, with not a breath of wind stirring and the water glassy as can be, a single wave suddenly came up the Clear Creek channel and into the marina where I was sitting, drinking coffee. All of the boats rocked as though a 50 mile gust had hit them. Where the shrimp boats were moored in a side channel, boats were torn from their docks and large metal cleats pulled out of the wood.

    As it turns out, an earthquake in Alaska had sent out a wave which ended up in our neighborhood, where it stopped cold. I need to go back and find the details, but I’ll never forget my shock when we learned the explanation. Sometimes we’re connected in some very concrete ways!

    Many thanks for stopping by, and for your appreciative comment. You’re welcome to stop by anytime!

    Linda

  3. Linda,
    This, as all your work, is quite nicely written. I enjoy stopping by your blog and “hearing” your viewpoint, as I suspect you write very much as you speak. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. Yes, we are close, I am in UC, not all that far from Galveston. I really enjoyed your comments about Edwards, when I first saw him back in the Kerry campaign, there kept creeping into my awareness that not all was as it seemed, but I didn’t guess the level of dishonesty. What a jerk. Anyway, thanks, and keep up the lovely writing.
    Su

    Good morning, sumariel,

    I do appreciate your comments, particularly since I’ve been so entranced with your own writing. Your explorations of the paths you are walking are not only lovely and thoughtful, but self-revelatory in a unique way. Shakespeare was right when he chose the words: “there are worlds…undreamt of in your philosophies.”

    Because I’ve started writing without ever doing any reading about writing, I’m fairly ignorant of the ways “professionals” talk about the craft. But if there is such a thing as a “conversational tone”, I think it’s one that suits me. It’s very much the tone of someone who says, “Come over here and look at this – isn’t it interesting?”

    As for Senator Edwards, the sad thing is that what I wrote about him could be written about far too many others. The levels of dishonesty in our world are becoming toxic. It’s part of what makes honesty in writing so important.

    The lovely sunshine we have is supposed to last all week. Enjoy it to the fullest!

    Linda

  4. Linda, hi. I’m from Puerto Rico, pretty close to Yoani. But as you, I feel a special connection and a responsiblity to pray for the plight of the cuban people. I am fascinated by her way with words. Do you read her in english? I read her in spanish. I liked your entry very much especially the fact that others are getting informed about Cuba and getting to know Yoani. God bless you and Merry Christmas.

    Hello, Darlene,

    Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I do read Ms. Sanchez in English, although I am trying to learn some Spanish and make my way through some things with the help of translation services.

    It amazed me when I first learned of her and began to pay attention to Cuba how little we really know of a country so close to us. But, we can learn.

    Christmas blessings to you, too, and thank you again for your kind words.

    Linda

  5. I am trying to connect with generation y of yoani in cuba and what I got is a site in german language.
    What is happening?

    angel oliva,

    This is quite strange. I tried to reach her blog in several ways and also got the German pages. I have submitted a question to the WordPress forums, and as soon as I have an answer or a solution, I’ll post it here.

    I’m sure the links still were working a week ago. It does seem strange that even Google has been affected. In any event, I will try to find out for you.

    Many thanks for reading, and special thanks for letting me know about this problem!

    Linda

    ADDENDEM 12/22 9:00 CST – The problem is not with the WordPress site or with our computers. It may be with the server. A number of blogs have been affected. I’m still trying to get more information, and will add any new information here.

  6. Please, warning to all that admire Yoani Sanchez. Her blog page is being blocked for the cuban government. Today December 22, 2008 nobody can access the blog.

    Freedom of speech!

    Endido,

    If true, this would be distressing. When I became aware that German-lanuage error messages were being seen by my readers, I made some inquiries, and there are suggestions that server errors may be involved. We certainly will watch the situation. I appreciate the email, and any further information would be welcome, of course.

    Linda

  7. A note re: Generacion Y ~

    Yoani Sanchez’ blog is accessible once again. Here is the message posted today, December 23.

    Generation Y and the other blogs on the Portal Desdecuba.com have been inaccessible for more than twenty-four hours. The causes of the blackout have not yet been determined, but I want to thank all those who have been concerned about the loss of our connection.

    I regret giving you so many headaches, but I am happy to confirm that we can continue fighting off the attacks, the trolls, and even the software problems. A hug and we are going to recoup this lost day.

    Yoani

  8. Wow! Great to find your blog and moved by your words. I have been traveling to Cuba and following Yoani. Meeting her is also my fantasy, but not such a distant one as I will be in Havana again soon. I am hoping to somehow meet her. If you’re interested, my blog about Cuba is at http://talkingcuba.wordpress.com/

    talkingcuba,

    Thanks so much for the visit, and the link to your blog. I visited your site and will be back again to do more reading – it’s very nicely done.

    While I’m not in a position to travel to Cuba, it pleases me that my writing can help to introduce others to the country, its people and the realities of life there. There’s much to learn, and much more to hope for as the months go on.

    Linda

Leave a Reply

