A Pair of Olympic-Caliber Chickens

I’m rarely sentimental about towns I’ve never visited, but Benton Harbor, Michigan is an exception.

Benton Harbor was named after five-term Missouri Senator Thomas Hart Benton, who earned the honor by helping Michigan achieve statehood. His grand-nephew, also named Thomas Hart Benton, is one of my favorite American painters and muralists. The younger and more artistic Benton was the son of Maecenus Benton, who served in Congress himself after a stint as prosecuting attorney for Newton County, Missouri.

It’s at this point in the Benton/Benton Harbor history that my sentimental twinges begin. Maecenus Benton lawyered in Newton County, Missouri, while I was born in Newton, Iowa.  My little Newton happened to be home to the Maytag Company, my father’s employer for decades.  In 2006, Maytag was sold to the Whirlpool Corporation, whose administrative headquarters still are located in Benton Harbor, Michigan.

In one more lovely, serendipitous complication, Benton Harbor is located along the eastern edge of Lake Michigan on the Paw Paw River. When I lived in Liberia, my whorled tabby cat was named Paw Paw because she loved to knead sofas, pillows, people and other animals with her paws, just as if she were kneading bread.

The joke around the compound was that she had a Liberian name, since “pawpaw” also was the local name for the meltingly luscious papaya that hung from the trees surrounding the house. I thought I’d seen every kind of pawpaw in the world ~ little yellow ones, fat, round ones the color of pink grapefruit and orange-fleshed giants as big as watermelons but, as it turns out, I’d missed one variety. Michigan’s Paw Paw river is named for a different fruit with the same name. While not a papaya, the Benton Harbor version of the pawpaw is a cold-tolerant cousin to the soursop, another tropical fruit which grew in my Liberian yard. 

 

The web of connections woven between my life and the small Michigan town are intriguing. But when I hear the words “Benton Harbor”, I never think first of politics, art, agriculture or history.  Whisper “Benton Harbor” into my ear, and I’ll whoop right back with a cackle and a cluck, “He’s everywhere! He’s everywhere!”  As generations of devotees know, “he” is Benton Harbor, a mild-mannered, crime-fighting shoe salesman from Midland City, USA, popularized in the 1960s and known to hundreds of thousands of radio listeners as Chickenman.

Created by Dick Orkin, Radio Hall of Fame inductee and Production Director of Chicago radio station WCFL, Chickenman first aired on WCFL’s Jim Runyon show in the spring of 1966. Runyon served as narrator and Orkin himself voiced Chickenman. The two were joined by a cast of characters that included Police Commissioner Benjamin Norton, the Commissioner’s secretary, Miss Honor Helfinger, Chickenman’s girl friend Sayde Leckner and his mother, Mildred Harbor.  Also known as “The Maternal Marauder”, Mildred Harbor occasionally helped out with the crime-fighting, riding along with her son Benton in his yellow Chicken Coupe and dispensing motherly wisdom while he confronted such foes as the Chicken-Plucker, the Bear Lady and Big Clyde Crushman. 

It was old-time radio for a new day, a combination of comedy, crime-fighting and drama that recalled the thrill of huddling around the family set for Fibber McGee and Molly, Lux Family Theater, The Shadow or Dragnet.  Even more simply, it was story telling. It wasn’t meant to be “read” or “watched”, it was meant to be listened to, as in this episode where Chickenman discovers his precious chicken suit has been snagged by a sneaky and stereotypical competitor. 


Click to play The Case of the Missing Chicken Suit 

From the first episode to the last, Chickenman was in turn earnest, insouciant, self-effacing, naive, bumbling and screamingly funny.  He wasn’t a super-hero, and he wasn’t an anti-hero.  He was just a guy with a good heart, a trusting spirit and the best of intentions who happened to believe it was possible to overcome evil.  The fact that he thought donning a chicken suit and flapping his arms was the best way to do it may seem a bit strange until you consider the perspective of his girlfriend, Miss Sayde, who was heard to say, “If you can get past the clucking and the feathers flying around, he’s actually doing some good.”

For those of us who don’t mind a few flying feathers, the best news may be that the spirit of Chickenman lives.  For most people, Benton Harbor is just another Michigan town, and crime-fighting belongs to the psychological profilers and scientific sorts. Still, there are people committed to doing good and being good despite the judgment of the world, and there are people who continue to rejoice in setting and meeting their own, idiosyncratic goals even when ridiculed or dismissed by an utterly perplexed world. 

I discovered one such person months ago, tucked away into one of my favorite blogs.  Sara, one of the Rumcreeters crew, had gone off for a weekend ski trip with a group of friends from her old high school.  Like many of us, she wasn’t entirely certain the “reunion” thing was a good idea.  As she put it, “…I was sure that the weekend would be a recurrence of my worst grade 10 nightmares, when my best friend found a new group of friends and I had to eat lunch in a bathroom stall because I had no one to sit with.”

Happily, the weekend was a success, filled with skiing, movies, drinking and junk food – a perfect prescription for any class reunion or corporate retreat.  Best of all, one of her friends provided the sort of experience that would have made Benton Harbor, the crimefighter, beam, even as it would have bemused the good citizens of Benton Harbor, the town.  As Sara puts it,

I spent most of my time skiing with my two friends, one of whom does not have a winter jacket, so he snowboards in a chicken suit. He had rented a chicken suit in grade 12, partly to promote his campaign for student council, mostly because he wanted to rent a chicken suit. However, he recently found a chicken suit on Ebay and bought it, because really, there are too many times in life made for a chicken suit for renting to suffice. So he now snowboards in a chicken suit. (His goggles fit over the chicken face mask, though he says his eyes still get freezing cold.)

She goes on to say that her friend doesn’t do it for the attention.  He doesn’t do it to make a statement and he’s not doing it on a dare.  He just snowboards in a chicken suit.  And then, in all apparent innocence, she asks the one question worth asking: “What would life be like if more of us did the same?”

Watching Olympic snowboarding with friends recently, I found my answer.  As Shaun White flew above the halfpipe, the intake of breath around the room was audible. Someone said, “Oh, my gosh! I’d be so chicken to do that!”  Never one to miss an opportunity, another friend said, “Sure. But you’re chicken to do anything!” while another added, “Everyone’s a chicken about something…”

Perhaps because Akio Toyoda’s visit to Congress had been so highly publicized, he was the first person who came to mind. As if in a dream I saw the President of Toyota Motor Corporation seated before his inquisitors, dressed in a chicken suit. The image was so funny I couldn’t contain myself, and neither could my friends once I told them the story.  We began inventing scenarios: Queen Elizabeth at the Changing of the Guard – in a chicken suit.  Helen Thomas appearing at a White House press briefing – in a chicken suit.  Any parent showing up at any parent-teacher conference – in a chicken suit.

With a little less thought and a little more visualization, it’s clear what life would be like if more of us did the same.  Surely there would be less pomposity, a bit less self-importance, less worry about hierarchies and far less concern for propriety.  With luck, there would be more spontaneity, more whoops and hollers,  a little more joie de vivre and a whole lot more laughter.

With even more luck, it wouldn’t be long before Benton-Harbor-the-Chickenman’s battle cry would be transformed.   If enough of us could bring ourselves to get over our embarassment with clucking, waving arms and  flying feathers, Benton-Harbor-the-town might take a look around and say,

“They’re everywhere! They’re everywhere!”

 

 Comments are welcome ~ to leave a comment, please click below
Published in: on February 28, 2010 at 4:49 pm  Comments (25)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://shoreacres.wordpress.com/2010/02/28/a-pair-of-olympic-caliber-chickens/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yes, my son and I whooped and hollered when we read this, and we have been joking ever since! Thanks for brightening our day, and I will look for ways to pass it along.

    NumberWise,

    I knew you’d get a chuckle out of it – not to mention a few additional jokes! Passing it on is part of the fun. I imagine up in your part of the country people are ready for anything that makes them smile. Isn’t that chicken the color of a jonquil or daffodil? ;-)

    Linda

  2. What a hoot — rather, cluck– for we all know I am such a chicken.

    Surfmom,

    I’m so slow sometimes. I should have used a photo of The Girls down there at the end. Didn’t even cross my mind. Nevertheless, you and I know how much honor they’re due. “Bird-brain” is a compliment, after all!

    I thought of you while I was writing this – glad to see you stop by ;-)

    Linda

  3. I just cackled and cackled. Your story-telling made my afternoon.

    Laura,

    Glad you enjoyed it, girl. Now, let’s think about this. Annie Leibovitz takes those great portraits, but does she have someone in a chicken suit?
    Wouldn’t THAT be a project? You could follow her around and convince all of her portraiture subjects to don the suit for you! How’s that for out-of-the-box thinking? ;-)

    Linda

  4. Hehehehehe….

    What wonderful images come to mind!

    Forget the advice to nervous public speakers for them to picture everyone in the audience naked. Instead, picture them in a chicken suit. Yourself, as well!

    Of course, you may risk laughing too hard to give your speech.

    Bug,

    Presidential campaign debates in chicken suits! Bret Favre at a post game presser in a chicken suit! Meryl Streep as Julia Child in a chicken suit!
    My mother at the doctor’s in a chicken suit!

    The closest I ever came was the day I drove a life-sized, 6′ yellow Tweety Bird to Kerrville. I found it, brand new with tags, in a dumpster. I had a friend who loved Tweety, so there was no question. I strapped it in with the seat belt in the passenger seat and away we went. You should have SEEN the looks I got in traffic ;-)

    I don’t know if it’s best, but laughter is pretty good medicine.

    Linda

  5. Welllll … I always loved the ‘Chickenman’. In fact, last year I bought “The Original & Complete Chickenman” (14 cd’s, 273 Episodes, etc.) It was like a time-machine trip back to the early 1970’s! I even had/have a chicken costume somewhere that I used for Halloween a number of times. It was so much better than a witch, ghost, or some ‘Action Hero’ outfit! Maybe I should wear it on my training runs from time to time?

    Daniel,

    I knew I’d surface someone who was a fan! Somehow, it doesn’t surprise me that it’s you. And you’re a true fan, too, because you know it’s one word: Chickenman. I didn’t realize until I got into this that the whole set’s available now. I may have to pursue that in the future.

    I’d love to see you do a few training runs in your costume, but I’m afraid I know what would happen. We’d be hearing callers on Coast-to-Coast with George Noory claiming they saw one ‘a them aliens right out there in broad daylight, running like the very Devil was after him. Besides, who knows what the horses and dogs would think! ;-)

    Linda

  6. Wow! Thanks for the introduction to Chickenman and Sara.

    I had a friend who was in between jobs once. She was working for a temp agency and signed me up. She called, and asked if I would do a job with her. I said, “Sure.” I ended up giving out balloons while dressed in a Wonder Bread costume. I know it wasn’t a chicken costume, but several men squeezed me to see if I was fresh. They were not disappointed.

    Bella

    Bella,

    Well, well… I’m sure the Wonder Bread folks weren’t thinking of that when they advertised “strong bodies, twelve ways”! And for those young’uns who don’t know, the balloons were appropriate because the Wonder Bread packages, trucks, etc. were decorated with blue, red and yellow balloons. I’ll bet yours were the same color.

    At least the guys had been well-trained by their mamas in the art of bread selection! ;-)

    Linda

  7. Forgot to say that your mention of ‘PawPaw’ set me off down Memory Lane.

    Mama used to sing me a song she’d grown up with. I don’t remember all the words, just this one part – and the tune:

    “Pickin’ up paw-paws, put ‘em in yer pocket,
    Pickin’ up paw-paws, put ‘em in yer pocket,
    Picking up paw-paws, put ‘em in yer pocket,
    Way down yonder in the paw-paw patch!”

    I’ve now had that tune stuck in my head since yesterday.

    Bug,

    Well, now it’s stuck in mine, too! I wondered if it might be on YouTube, and sure enough, it’s there as part of an advertisement for a garden and orchard place. The focus is the fruit, not the song, but there’s enough to get a feel for “Pickin’ Up Pawpaws”. I’d never heard it, so there may be others who’ll like to hear the tune, too.

    There’s one difference in the versions. The one sung on YouTube says, “put ‘em in the basket”. Otherwise, just the same. It’s fun to hear the old songs and see how they’ve developed differently in different parts of the country.

    Linda

  8. While I appreciate your essay and the spirit with which it was offered, I must respectfully disagree concerning your conclusion. If chicken suits become widespread, human nature will adapt and prevail. I can see it all now:

    Industries vie to produce the fanciest suits. Fashionistas scramble to define the latest and most tasteful trends in fowlwear. Factional disputes arise over whether a proper suit should be chick yellow, Rhode Island red, Leghorn white or Dominicker salt and pepper. Strutting roosters disturb the public as each strives to crow louder than his neighbor. Preening hens block sidewalks and thoroughfares. Ordinary words such as “cock-up” and “henpecked” take on whole new dimensions of horror.

    [Sorry, I couldn't help myself. :o)]

    Ah, Bogon,

    You may be right, although your use of the phrase “adapt and prevail” stopped me in my tracks, evoking as it does the entirely horrifying image of William Faulkner delivering his famous Nobel Prize acceptance speech – in a chicken suit!

    On the other hand, there’s little doubt the cultural landscape would begin to change as fowl language became accepted and the work of Jackson Pollock was equated with chicken scratchings.

    At least we can feel confident Flannery O’Connor finally would get her due. As she commented in Mystery and Manners, “When I was six I had a chicken that walked backward and was in the Pathe News. I was in it too with the chicken. I was just there to assist the chicken but it was the high point in my life. Everything since has been anticlimax.”

    The way things are going, I’m beginning to think everything from this post forward may be anticlimax. ;-)

    Linda

  9. Hilarious! Interestingly, there is a fairly recent Disney Channel movie called “Hatching Pete” where the shy main character becomes the school mascot, a rooster, and in his chicken suit has the courage to let his true personality out. I wonder if the people at Disney were thinking at all of ChickenMan?

    Maman A Droit,

    I haven’t a clue what Disney was thinking, but from the trailer and the comments from the kids on the site, it looks like they have a hit on their hands. The concept of “hatching” our true personalities is genius. When I was growing up, people talked a lot about “taking on” adult personalities, almost as though you could pull a few off the rack like dresses, try them on and choose the one you liked best. “Hatching” implies we have our personalities – we just have to peck our way out of our shells into the world. I love it.

    Thanks so much for stopping by, and especially for alerting me to the movie. I wouldn’t have known about it otherwise, that’s for sure!

    Linda

  10. Giggle, giggle, giggle. Just thinking about it makes me giggle! Staff meetings in a chicken suit. Congressional addresses in a chicken suit. Attending the opera in a chicken suit! Oh, and it goes on and on!

    And I would love it. Well, unless I had to wear the suit — you ever wear one of those things? We get them for station mascots, and I swear I self-sabotage my weight watchers just so I won’t have to put on a big head and fur!

    Benton Harbor — close to home here. But I like your connections better than visiting Benton Harbor (though I did once go to a smashing wedding there!)

    jeanie,

    I’ve wondered what it would be like to actually wear one of those things. Every time I drive past our Chick-fil-A restaurant, there’s someone in a cow outfit in the the median, waving like crazy and carrying that sign that says, “Eat Mor Chikn”. I suppose it could get to be a pain, but the cow always waves and I always wave back. And grin, a lot.

    And never mind attending the opera in a chicken suit! What about Renee Fleming or Placido Domingo in a chicken suit? I love the thought.

    When I was looking for a photo of Benton Harbor, the town, the lighthouse did seem to be the most attractive landmark. But I suppose that’s the point. There’s no sense naming a mild-mannered crime fighter after South Beach or Vegas!

    Linda

  11. Linda – what a great write up! I’ve never heard of Chickenman! That chicken get up reminds me of the Foster Farms chicken commercials here. They aren’t normally yellow, but I found a Youtube I just have to post in your WU blog because of the comments. Hope you don’t mind.

    I wore a gorilla costume once (for Halloween). It was a very good one. One of the parents in our classroom had connections with someone in Hollywood. Darn was that costume hot – so I can relate to what jeanie said.

    And…..Bogon cracked me up as much as your original posting!!!

    Karen,

    I have a couple of friends on the east coast who’d never heard of him, either. Since the show originated in Chicago, it may be it was less common on both coasts. I heard it most often on WHO out of Des Moines, and a Kansas City station I can’t remember.

    The chicken commercial was a hoot! I’d never seen any of them – but of course, we don’t have Foster Farms. I don’t know what it is about talking chickens and ducks and such that’s so funny, but it just is. I love the AFLAC duck ;-)

    Somehow I can’t quite see you as a gorilla, but that’s part of the fun. The only thing I’d want to be sure is that a costume like that wouldn’t interfere with candy-gathering!

    Linda

  12. Now I can’t stop picturing people in chicken suits.

    I pictured the band I am reviewing in tomorrow’s post wearing them and I think I may have hurt myself laughing.

    Kit,

    The best thing about laugh-injuries is that they heal fast!

    Musicians are great targets for chicken-costume humor. How about Gene Simmons fronting KISS in a chicken suit? ;-)

    Linda

  13. Yet another piece of American history I wouldn’t be able to find except here … Love your metaphor of the Chicken Suit. Don’t we all need one though, to put on whenever we feel life is just too too serious for us to face head-on. It’s hard to drop our guard and protective gears, and show ourselves as vulnerable.

    Just let me get mine out to air it a bit. It has been quite a stressful two months since the turn of the new year. Thanks for the break, Linda.

    Arti,

    I think it would be pretty hard to varnish in a chicken suit – all those feathers, you know. Other than that, I can think of any number of times and places I’d find it useful. I’ve been thinking about giving mine an airing, too. ;-)

    There’s been a lot of commentary about the humor of seeing someone in a chicken suit, but it occurs to me this morning – what would it feel like to be in a chicken suit? A lot freer, I suspect, and not much concerned with what other people think.

    I’ve got a box of extra feathers in the closet. Let me know if you need some!

    Linda

  14. Linda,

    Like the chicken I am, I’ve been marinating in your words all week, rather than confess how your words came home to roost.

    I love this post. What joy the images stirred up within me — they do offer an invitation just to lean into life, to fear not — even if we have to occasionally walk on egg shells or even if sometimes all we seem to do is lay an egg.

    Your post was the third invitation I received on Sunday to grab some joy for my life — the others came, strangely enough, from a reality t.v. show that we follow and not so strangely, from a book written by Ray Bradbury. In his book “Zen In The Art Of Writing,” Bradbury writes, “…if you are writing without zest, without gusto, without love, without fun, you are only half a writer.”

    Thanks for the bright spot, for being a guidepost in my life… and dare I say… for being such a good egg?

    Janell

    Janell,

    I’ve just recently discovered Bradbury as a guide for writers of every sort, and enjoy his perspective. I’ve enjoyed writing from the beginning, but this piece was flat fun to write – and there is a difference!

    I recently found myself listed on another blogroll, all by myself, in a category called “Verve”. It was a stunning moment ~ someone else had spotted a characteristic in my writing I’d never seen, but which I recognized immediately once it was pointed out. Maybe I need to start blogging in a chicken suit!

    And of course, sometimes it’s best to just stop reading, stop writing and stop thinking. There’s room in life for the material and the physical, too – if we ignore that, it’s at our peril. It may even be more dangerous than snowboarding, chicken suit or not!

    Linda

  15. Hi, Linda – it’s me, jumping up and down in the crowd and waving hello to you!

    Egads, it’s been ages, I know. Not that I haven’t thought of you or writing to you. It’s just that I drop out, now and then, of blogworld, not being the major multi-tasker after all! I won’t plead “work” as the reason, though actually, it’s been kinda cool of late, challenging in a good way. And then, I’ve been writing a lot more.

    Oh, enough about all that – I loved this entry. Made me laugh. Made me do a double-take on some of the pictures. I loved watching the Olympics but found myself completely relaxed when the snowboarders came on. Their attitude is refreshing, their team spirit strong (like some of their language!) and they seemed to be having fun rather than being clenched.

    And then of course you wove things together so beautifully. I have several entries to catch up on but wanted to say “hey” and “happy spring” because honestly, I feel it’s right around the corner!

    more later–
    Oh

    Oh,

    It was so good to see you pop up with your wonderful “book house” and it’s even nicer to discover you here. I thought you might be involved with some other projects, and figured you’d show up when you were ready!

    A lot of people laughed at this entry – but who wouldn’t, with photos like that, and Chickenman being what he was? Is. Funny is wonderful, and it’s great to be reminded that humor doesn’t have to be snarky or nasty, or depend on crudeness and double entendres.

    I love the snowboarding, too. I used to watch them on Xtreme sports, amazed at their skill. Of course, they’re fully as dedicated as the skateboarders in my neighborhood, willing to do the same thing over and over and over until they get it right.

    Which is sort of what we do ~ right? :-)

    Linda

  16. O.k I now hold you responsible for my sitting here having visions of famous people wearing chicken suits ;-)

    Carol,

    And I’m more than happy to accept the responsibility! Life is hard enough for so many folks these days ~ a little smile, some humor and fun is always in order!

    Linda

  17. Linda,

    I’ve read several of your stories from here but I never left a comment before. But today I am. I really enjoyed the story. It was great on so many levels. Thanks for providing a nice little amusing break in my very boring day.
    All your stories are so good!

    Thanks,
    Patti

    Patti,

    Gosh, I’m glad you gave a wave on your way through! And I’m glad you enjoyed the piece – think Rylee’d look good as a chicken next Halloween? :-)

    I know this… you’ve got a better shot at seeing someone in a chicken suit in this next week than I do. I’ve BEEN to Key West!

    Linda

  18. WOW! What a deft writer you are. The connections and serendipities astonish, but are clear and concise. What’s more amazing to me is that I knew nothing of any of this, except Benton Harbor the town. I never heard of the paw paw fruit.

    It is very cool that you traced the connections between these various entities, and ended with this fun and human game of visualing people in chicken suits. It gives the old speech advice new meaning, picturing the people in the audience naked. Picture them in chicken suits instead!

    Ruth,

    I thought of all you Michiganders when I was writing this, wondering who would know the paw paw, or Chickenman. I thought of Ginnie, too, as her photos of Michigan lighthouses brought home the fact that the Great Lakes really are the “great” lakes – large enough to need lighthouses. Why “The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” hadn’t accomplished that, I don’t know, but there you are.

    This was great fun to write, but in some ways probably as difficult to put together as your wonderful Black history post. Working with serendipities or trying to condense long sweeps of history are great ways to learn “craft”, it seems.

    Do you suppose Don’s chickens sit around and visualize one another in people suits? ;-)

    Linda

  19. Have this weird feeling that Chicken Man may be Maxwell Smart’s direct ancestor…Another weird connection is that when we watched our daughter swim the other week, every parent was clad in team-supportive attire–t-shirts mostly–except for one group sporting chicken hats! It was funny, but also admirable: anyone can wear a t-shirt, but to be willing to look silly for your kid takes support to a different level.

    Anyway, I love the taut rope you wove from the different strands of this story. Long live the chicken suit!

    ds ~

    LOVE Team Chicken! It sure would make it easier for the kids to spot their fans from the pool!

    And you know, with Get Smart first airing in 1965 and Chickenman in 1966, it may be that Maxwell Smart influenced Chickenman. It is a fact that Chickenman was meant as a satirization of Batman and other superheroes. There just was something in the air in the mid-60s, and who’s to say that Maxwell Smart and Chickenman weren’t the first steps toward Woodstock and the impeachment of Nixon? Once you get the courage to poke fun at heroes, well……

    One of the funniest things of all about this post is that when I talked with mom about it, she doesn’t remember Chickenman at all. I even played a couple of episodes. Nada. I can remember as clear as day standing in our kitchen while I was home from college in the summer, listening to the show and laughing my head off, clucking around and making like a chicken. She’s sure she never heard it. Maybe she didn’t!

    Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’re getting some spring up there soon. We finally have some Bradford pear trees starting to bloom, and a few narcissus beaming at us. Oh, and I saw some dandelions. It’s on its way to you!

    Linda

  20. I love Chickenman. Love the idea of the world with more chicken suits. It would make the situation less stressful to be pulled over and see the state trooper walk toward the car in a chicken suit. Maybe wars would end sooner if the new battle uniform was a chicken suit.

    I gotta work in more Chickenman into my own blog. It’s been fun to read your article and all the great comments.

    Hi, Keith,

    Thanks so much for stopping by – sorry for the delay in responding but… well… let’s just say there should be more IRS agents in chicken suits, too. It would make the whole process of tax figuring and paying more fun. Sort of like your state troopers and battalion commanders ;-)

    In any event, with taxes done I can get back to the important stuff, like checking out your blog! Glad you enjoyed your time here – you’re welcome any time.

    Linda

  21. In between Big Paw Paw Lake and Little Paw Paw Lake in Coloma, MI (next to Benton Harbor), is Newton Ave. Just thought you might be interested…

    Micah!

    I am interested! What a great bit of trivia. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to let me know. I just love these little connections that pop up!

    Linda

  22. Golly I was there for the birth of chickenman. I was a hopeless radio music geek with shortwave am and fm. Early fm was a blast.
    Not sure what year, but used to listen to a thing called triad radio out of chicagoland. Avant Gard sorta stuff. I had a homemade 40 meter, maybe 70 meter. It is lost in the mists antenna rigged out the bedroom window over past the green plums.

    I stumble across a broadcast every so often.

    More winter starting tomorrow, all the way till Saturday. The seasons are very quick now.

    • blu,

      Just re-read this and it sure was more fun than listening to the latest doom and gloom in the news. Chickenman for Prez, maybe. Senator. Whatever. Could it be worse?

      Radio was fun. The best part of being sick as a kid was getting to stay home and listen to the radio shows in bed. “My Little Margie”. “The Great Gildersleeve”. “Dragnet”.

      If you don’t know about it, you might enjoy a site called Retro Radio Podcasts. The guy has an archive of all the good stuff you just can’t believe. Click away and have fun! Good stuff for those cold winter nights!

      Linda

  23. We sometimes get excerpts of your endless current rounds of Republican debates on our TV news broadcasts; seems to me they would be more apropos if the candidates were wearing chicken suits.

    • Rick,

      Splendid idea! I’d even enjoy seeing everyone on the dais at tonight’s State of the Union speech in chicken suits. Lord knows we could use some comic relief at this point.

      Linda


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,106 other followers